Energy healing is full of many words that can be confusing. Reiki, Chakras, Qi, Kundalini and so many more. It can be overwhelming to know what everything is. Plus, what you need to look for when you are considering having energy work.

In this article I am going to cover what energy is, so there is no more language confusion. Then I will go into more detail on what chakras are and how Reiki uses the chakra system.

reiki healing chakras

When I first started to explore energy healing, I was confused by all the terminology. It has taken me years to get my mind around some of the concepts. (Still get confused sometimes! 😁)

But I kept trying different types of energy work and learning about all the terminology. Eventually I re-discovered Reiki, and I feel in love. It all started to make sense.

I ended up getting my Reiki Master certification. Now I help others in their journey to understand energy.

I think a great way to start is to understand about Reiki Chakras, and how they work together.

Let’s get started first with learning more about what energy is.

What is Energy?

Life-force energy at its simplest is the energy that keeps you going.

We all have it, we all share it. Our life-force energy is from the universe and continually cycles. It does not go away.

It is what makes you healthy and gives you energy. It can also become blocked and cause health problems. Pain and weakness are from either too much or not enough energy.

When your energy is blocked, you can’t access your full potential.

How does this energy get stuck?

Your energy can become stuck for a variety of reasons. Including poor physical upkeep such as no sleep, bad food and no physical movement. It can also come from your emotions not being addressed.

When emotions are ignored, they are kept in the body till you deal with them.  Other reasons include trauma, both current and past life and also illness.

Energy Ideas and Language From Different Cultures

This concept is not new. Wisdom traditions for centuries have talked about and created ways to heal our energy. This is where many eastern medicine/alternative treatments come from. It is old school medicine that we are going back to. But today our science is starting to put research behind the ideas.

Why are there so many different energy terms?

There are so many variations because of the long history and different cultures. In a time where there was no internet, no phone, no tv, no cars – you get the idea – many different cultures were discovering the same thing. But because of the lack of communication tools it got many different names.

We are talking centuries ago that this stuff was discovered. Chakras have been traced back to between 1500 and 500 BC.

For the rest of this article we are going to focus on the Chakras specifically and how they relate to Reiki.

What are the Major Chakras?

There are seven major chakras. They each represent different body systems, emotions and issues. They all have names and also a number. The root chakra is the first chakra, and the crown chakra is the the 7th.  The rest are numbered in the order that they go up the body from the root chakra.


Crown Chakra

The crown chakra, also known as the 7th chakra is located at the top of your head. It represents your connection to the Universe/Source – whatever you prefer to call that!

Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra is right in the middle of your forehead. If you were to have an extra eye in-between your current two, that is where this chakra is located! This chakra is related to your vision for your life, your dreams and perception of the world.

Throat Chakra

The throat chakra is at your throat, one of the easiest to remember! It represents what you think it does – your communication and ability to express yourself.

Heart Chakra

This is the other one that is easy to remember. It is in the center of your chest. This center revolves around love. Both giving and receiving love and compassion.  (For more help on ways to unblock your heart chakra, check out this article on How to Open to Love.)

Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus is right above your navel. This chakra is related to personal power, taking action, intuition and the thinking process.

Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is right below the navel. It is associated with sexuality and your emotions.

Root Chakra

The root chakra is at the base of your spine and below. It is associated with survival, family and deep emotional issues.

For more in-depth information on Chakras check out this article from Yoga Journal.

What are The Differences Between Reiki and Chakra Healing?

This is a question that I get frequently. So, let’s start with this before we get into how Reiki uses chakras.

Reiki and your chakras are not the same thing. Reiki is one of the tools that you can use to heal your chakras.

To help you understand, let’s look at your hair. If you get a bad haircut, you have a few options to help. You can wear a hat, you can wear a scarf, you could get a new haircut, or do nothing and complain about it!

If your chakras are blocked and out of balanced, you can use Reiki, you can do nothing, or you can use another tool to balance them. (More on that below.)

However, your chakras don’t necessarily have to be out of balance to receive Reiki.

Reiki also helps to release energies that are stuck, but not disturbing your chakras. Examples for this might be physical blocks from past lives or even during your time in your mother’s uterus. We carry all of these things with us, and they can cause problems which Reiki can help with.

How Reiki and Chakras Work Together

Reiki Balances and Aligns the Chakras

When your chakras are out of balance, they can cause health issues and other blockages. Reiki is one of the tools that you can use to re-balance and cleanse your chakras. This is done by providing Universal Source Energy to clear them. The energy flow through the therapist’s hands to your body.

Chakras are Guides for Reiki Hand Positions

Reiki originally had only three zones to focus the healing energy around. As our cultures began to have more contact with each other, Reiki practitioners began to use the Chakras instead of the original three zones.

Why? Because chakras cover more of the body. Plus they are more common across the world than the original zones, known as Tandens.

When receiving a Reiki healing your therapist will begin with energy at your crown chakra. Then move through the other chakras to cleanse and heal.

reiki chakra points

Reiki Chakras as Intuitive Guidance

When receiving Reiki, you can use the information from which chakras were the most blocked to help guide you in your healing work.

For example, if your root chakra is blocked you may want to explore your feelings and life experiences around safety.

For me personally when I receive intuitive message from your angels during a session, they tend to be focused around the chakra that they may be related to. For example, using the same root chakra experience. If yours is blocked, I might receive a message such as “you need more grounding practices.”

Other Ways to Balance the Chakras

There are other ways to balance your chakras besides for Reiki. Some of my favorites are meditation and emotional healing.  Other Chakra balancing tools include yoga, diet, stress reduction, crystals and sound healing.

There are many resources you can turn to for more specifics. The one that I keep on my bookshelf because it has so much good information is A Handbook of Chakra Healing by Kalashatra Govinda*. The best part is it can be use as a reference, you don't have to read it all the way through.

Interested in learning more about Reiki? Check out my Reiki information.

Quick Tools To Personal Growth

Each Saturday I email out a lesson and a journal prompt to help you achieve your best life! All Free!